Simple metal orb using Inkscape

Posted: February 14, 2008 in Tutorials (English)

Hello !

Today i`ll show you how to make an simple metal orb using only gradients in Inkscape. First draw a circle circle1.png by pressing ctr and dubble it. Open the fill and stroke dialog:

fillandstroke.jpg

open the editor:
gradienteditor.jpg

Now create some radial, gray scale gradients by adding stops like this:

gradients.jpg
Well, it`s easier with the new feature in Version 0.46:
alpha.jpg
The fill without the alpha channel to the first bottom circle the other to the second.
For more contrast you can give one of them a small stroke.

twoorb.jpg

Now light an shadow:

lights.jpg

The finish metalorb:

metals.jpg

Changing the gradients you get more metals.

Here is the SVG file absolutely free to use:

http://www.mediafire.com/?6djpj4zud0o

havefun.jpg

If you have found an mistake or bad english,

please send a mail: Chrisdesign (@) gmx (.) net

An other example, a piercing-ring (now at OCAL):

piercing.jpg

http://openclipart.org/media/files/Chrisdesign/7451

You want see more pictures using this technical? Look my account at deviantArt:

http://chrisdesign.deviantart.com/art/Metal-creatures-2-76293086

This work is under Creative Commons-Licence .
Creative Commons License

Comments
  1. Elisa says:

    Hello. I make a developped traduction here : http://www.inkscape-fr.org/spip.php?article71

    thanks :)

  2. pharqall says:

    Nice if the instructions had been better as a noob like me struggled to get to grips with the gradient bit. Although I have been using fireworks for many years the gradient tool is still a mystery to me at the moment!!

  3. andrew weber says:

    Thanks! Great tutorial.

  4. [...] a vontade para me perguntar qualquer coisa a respeito, o link para o tutorial original é este http://chrisdesign.wordpress.com e até a [...]

  5. squeletos says:

    Very nice tutorial
    I make a traslation for Brazilian portuguese

    Thanks

  6. [...] Chris a encore frappé voici une sorte de traduction de son tutorial Simple Metal Orb Using Gradients. [...]

  7. Changoman says:

    wow! that was great! my first time with inkscape and I understood it at once!!!

    =D

    Thanks!!!!

  8. Jaime Nieto says:

    Thanks for sharing. This tutorial is very useful for me, I want to do some Christmas decoration drawings, and this tutorial is perfect for this decoration.

  9. rajesh says:

    how do I get alpha channel in gradient editor? I am not able to resolve it even in Inkscape0.46.
    please help

  10. Alvaro says:

    Hi Chris Design
    I just checked your deviantart website. You have quite a few works, but most are impresive.
    I REALLY appreciate this tutorial. Now I’m near 100% sure I don’t need to buy KorelDraw or photo$hop to make awesome work!
    Thanks man!!

  11. Todd Stewart says:

    The gradient tool section could use a bit more explanation. As a noob I’m unable to make any sense of it.

  12. Anonymous says:

    This is a horribly written tutorial! Don’t get me wrong, the effect looks great, but seriously people – quit being for freakin’ lazy!

    Step 1) Create X

    • chrisdesign says:

      I believe that the most people already understand this tutorial. And please note: I`m not a profi or an company.
      This is just free stuff and i`m sharing my ideas here…not more.
      If you don`t like…who cares??

  13. riasaakshi says:

    Thanks for this, self taught illustration can be a nightmare at times – I did struggle to produce gradients that would do the trick, but once I got that the tutorial made the rest easy-peasy!.

  14. отличный урок, спасибо!

  15. Barry Delk says:

    Thank you so much for taking the time to make these excellent tutorials and share your knowledge with those of us ‘less fortunate’. Knowledge is power and your are helping empower humanity. Peace be with you and yours.

  16. Bob says:

    I see no instructions on how to use the tools. What is left out is the only thing a you need to know.

  17. Nell says:

    “The fill without the alpha channel to the first bottom circle the other to the second.”

    How is this done?

Leave a Reply

